Second MA in Digital Humanities-good idea?

teafortwo971

Hi all

I am currently finishing up an MA in Comparative Literature at UCL, with a BA in English Lit from America. I am really hoping to do a PhD in English at a top school in the US-UPenn, NYU, Columbia etc are all on my radar. I know the programs are competitive and as I want to stay in academia, I know that the field is too.

I am considering taking a year out and starting another MA in September 2015; Digital Humanities (hopefully a 1 year program in the UK, most likely Kings College London). I know the field is going in this direction and I have always been fascinated by DH (a lot of my favourite professors are working on DH projects, as are some of my peers that were trained in straight humanities) though I have no actual experience and training.  

This is obviously a very costly investment as there is no funding for Americans taking on MA's in England, but I feel like this could not only make me a much more competitive PhD applicant, but also more appealing for potential tenure-track positions later on (I am terrified of ending up an adjunct until my soul gets eaten away). 

Does this seem like a massive waste of time and money? I know that I need a year or so before starting a PhD anyway as I did not take any time between my undergrad and my MA, but the more I think about it, the more excited I am by the prospect of getting involved in the emerging field. 

Is this worth a year and about $50k in loans, or should I just go straight for the PhDs and hope for the best?

Is this worth a year and about $50k in loans, or should I just go straight for the PhDs and hope for the best?