Sociel Sciences Outside America, the Continent.

sugarplum

So, I read a lot about U.S.A Universities but almost near to nothing from Europe and Asia. Is it really that unworthy or is it just that nobody is interested in going there?

I'd like to consider places somewhere outside the American continent (which include North, Central and South America).

Which universities would you recommend?

I am looking for a PhD focused on research, my interest being Human-Interaction Communications.

I was also considering Social Psychology, but I am not sure if it is a viable option since my background is in Communication Studies.

I am hoping to read a lot of answers :)

• 6 months later...

Eurasia (collectively) does have some good schools, but many times, especially in Asia good schools are very hard to get into and weigh a lot on tests. In contrast, America usually uses a holistic approach to admissions. This creates a diverse pool of enrolled students that strengthens the student population at large. In west Europe, they have began to model their educational colleges closer to America's- so that Oxford and Cambridge etc. aren't the ones dominating UKs system. 

I'd actually disagree. In my experience, schools in the UK have a far more holistic approach to graduate admissions than in the US. The US is good at emphasizing certain qualities sure, but that also comes with a lot of administrative admissions bureaucracy.  I'd also argue that admissions in the US is a lot more formulaic GRE (weighted) + GPA (weighted) + "x factor" (less weighted) = your admissions chances. Obviously all schools have some sort of rubric but in my experience the UK (and Europe and in general) are far more holistic. 

I love how you corrected him in the snottiest way possible, even italicized "the America's."  Quick question though, what is America possessing in that statement that requires the apostrophe?