Would it hurt to take some extra classes during my year off from school?

I decided to defer my admission to Syracuse for one year. It's an unfunded offer, and to be honest, I'm going through some health problems at the moment. I realized that perhaps it's best to take a year off from school and focus on myself. I also want to take this year to reapply to some PhD programs in efforts to obtain a funded offer. My field is anthropology.

I do want to keep myself academically stimulated though. There were some courses I was interested in taking at Cuny's Graduate Center. I may also take some courses at Columbia. That's where I did my Master's.

But the thing is, I may be applying to these schools for my PhD. Would it hurt to take some courses here? I don't want them to think I'm trying to network or get in through the "backdoor approach."

What do you think?

I'm thinking that as long as you don't tell anyone: "I'm here so I'll have back door access", I think you'll be fine!  lol

On a more serious note, I don't think professors will think you're trying to weasel your way in.  If anything, this gives them a chance to know you better which, depending on your character, could be a good or bad thing.  Either way, you're showing professors that you are committed to learning.

I would also advise reading as many papers in your field as possible and striking up a conversation with professors about them.  Not only will it allow you to network, but you'll have a real advantage when talking research if/when you get interviewed. 

It won't hurt you, but I'm not a huge fan.