How Do You See My Chances? Soc of Medicine, Science

JohnBom

Hi,

I am completely new here. I arrived to the forum because I am slowly beginning to freak out about the fact that I am going to have to start thinking about grad school in pretty concrete terms. I am pretty sure that I want to study Soc of Science, Knowledge, Medicine. It would be really great if you could help me assess my chances. I don't want to apply to too many programs because I can't afford it.

Here are the basics of my app:

GPA 3.6

GREs 700 and 700

Excellent LoR (I have worked for my undergrad department for four years)

I had two research internships during my time in college - one in Ann Arbor and one in Chicago.

But-

I have not published

Writing sample probably not that great

I am an international student. I dont know if thats going to make any difference.

I am looking at UW-Madison, Berkeley, HASTS (MIT), JHU, Columbia, UMich, UPenn, Chicago, Vanderbilt, Emory

Thanks!

(Any other word of advice would also be greatly appreciated.)

It's really hard to divine anyone's chances of getting into a program from just the stats. Your stats seem all right, and I don't think anyone expects undergrads to have publications (though they help). Your LoRs are your strongest point -- if your undergrad program is respected enough (and the letters are from well-known sociologists) then you're in a very good shape. But the process of admission is qualitative and chaotic enough that I don't think anyone can tell you whether you'll get in to your top-choice programs.