Best way to read/organize/notate articles on the computer?

MsCastorp

A question for all of you grad students out there. As an undergrad, I read a ton of articles, and always printed them out, highlighted, took notes in the margins, etc. Having the actual paper in front of me made it easier to absorb the information, but was hard to keep organized and led to stacks and stacks of articles in my room by the end of the semester.....

Now, I'd like to switch things over to the digital world, for the sake of saving space and making things easier to organize. So, my question: is there any sort of program/software/whatever that would allow me to read, underline, highlight, annotate, and organize academic articles digitally? For those of you who do a lot of academic reading online, what have you found helpful? I would love to find some sort of program that I could save articles to and then access from any computer (like Google Documents).

I would greatly appreciate any helpful tips you can offer!

Edited by MsCastorp

Oh man, I'm super curious to hear everyone's responses too. This is something I'm still trying to grapple with as my libraries go increasingly digital and I can't take all my papers with me when I move every year or so. 

I've heard good things about Evernote, particularly in regards to its tagging features and searchablity. As for references, I am still in love with Zoterro (open source politics 4 life) and that's preventing me from making the switch.

I use a free program called PDF Xchange Viewer for reading my pdfs when I have to keep digital. It's got a good assortment of drawing, highlighting, and typing tools that work for me in terms of mark up, but isn't in anyways newly searchable. I'm basically recreating the scribbles I'd write on the page, without any efficiency gains.