a few questions

lekw

Okay I need some big time advice and have many questions so thanks in advance to anyone willing to tackle this and provide assistance.

First some background. I was a history Major in college a SUNY school then took about 21 graduate credits in history at CUNY Queens College. My college history GPA was about a 3.5 and graduate GPA 3.8. Before finishing graduate school I went to law school. I graduated passed two bar exams and have been a practicing attorney for three years. I now have an opportunity (no need to get into the specifics), to apply and attend history programs. This is something I always wanted to do but decided I should have the practical law education first. Now my questions and issues:

1) How important is the GRE Quantitative section? I have not studied math for +10 years. In the practice tests I take I score high verbal but horribly low in math. Can I get into a program with +600 verbal and maybe like 300 math?

2) I have zero letters of recommendation what should I do? I can get letters from judges, employers, even politicians but my last history class was 5 years ago? I can ask college professors for recommendations but even if they would write them these would be based on only grades and no memory of me. Can I get into programs with less then great recommendations?

3) Should I try to enter MA programs to establish more of a foundation in history. Are the requirements less strict? For example can I get into a top MA program then work my way into the PHD program?

4) Are there any schools or any fields that I can apply to that my law degree would help. I was thinking early American History maybe focusing on Constitutional history?

I know I have many questions but really have no idea how to proceed at this point. I feel that this is a lifelong dream but that I am at a severe disadvantage for going the practical rout first. Do I have any hope of getting in anyplace worth while? Thanks again so much for any help, information.