Passionate, but burdened by the past, what can I do?

throwawaygradstdnt

Long story short: I had a bad GPA in undergrad, making me a terrible candidate for most fellowships. I'm an introverted PhD engineering student who has been focused on course work. I haven't done any research and so my research advisor stopped advising me. I've been given an academic advisor, who apparently is not my research advisor, and I am to meet with him.

My bad GPA in undergrad was due to me spending all my time on research that never really went anywhere. My advisor was very laid-back about guiding, fearing that guiding might clamp down on creativity. I did get something into a conference (SPIE) based completely on my own idea with no guidance from my professor, who despite how this may sound, I really do like. And I got a third authorship on a paper in 2011. But, the bad GPA makes it really difficult to get fellowships.

I'm taking a class with him right now and I'm doing really well in it. I would like to be in his lab group (which consists of only one other graduate student, but I have seen others work with him and ask for advice related to his lab's projects), but I am worried that the fact that my research advisor dropped me will weigh negatively on his impression of me.

What should I do next?

Find out why your original research adviser dropped you. Make sure that's what happened, actually. "Stopped advising me" can mean a multitude of things. If you're still nominally this person's advisee, either find out how to change advisers and make it so, or find out how to get back on track with your research. Once you've got a clear reason why you've been dropped, figure out how to address whatever shortcomings got you dropped as an advisee. Then, go to your professor's office hours and ask him if he has any openings in his lab group and what you should do in order to become a part of it. Express your interest because he can't read your mind.