PhD any chances?

cookie77

Hey guys,

I am studying Clinical Psychology in Germany and want to apply for a PhD. I am thinking about Clinical or Social Psychology. I am not sure yet. Do I have an advantage when I apply for a PhD in Clinical Psychology because I already have a Bachelor in it?

Furthermore, my GPA will be ~ 3.8/3.9, I haven't taken the GRE yet because I really need to study for it. I did an internship at a psychiatry, in equine therapy, one research internship and a project in animal assisted therapy. After my Bachelor I will work for a year (6 months research and 6 months at a hospital, maybe in the psycho-oncology department).

Cons: Not much research experience and I didn't publish anything.

Do I still have a chance to get into a decent PhD program?

Thanks in advance!

Clinical Psych is extremely competitive -- you'll be up against people whose GPAs are the same as yours, have years of research experience, possibly publications, etc. So I don't think having a Bachelor's in Clinical Psych will make much of a difference. It's great that you have good internship experience though! I would start getting more research experience now so you can have a year's worth by the time you apply next year. Your GPA is amazing, that won't be a problem. As long as your GREs are good, you get more research experience, and apply to tons of programs, I'm sure you will get in somewhere :)

I agree with ISILYA on a number of levels.