Typical for a TA?

wishingforPHD

The school I am attending in the fall offered me a teaching assistantship that has me teaching an Intro class. My program is very interdisciplinary, so I am actually teaching in American Studies, even though I will be attending their Women's Studies Program. The problem is that the American Studies staff has been less than helpful in getting me ready for the fall. I had to send multiple emails just to get them to send me some basic information (class time, policies for ordering books, etc.) But so far there has been no help or guidance in planning the curriculum or figuring out the logistics. Is this normal? Is it too early for the department to start thinking about these things? Or, am I supposed to be doing this completely on my own?

I've been offered a GTA too but I have no idea what I'm supposed to teach. My ug degree is in physics and I have no background in Psychology (not enough to be teaching even an introductory course but I guess I can manage if required). However, I think they plan to have me assist a professor by grading/handing out assignments, etc and not actual teaching. This was what they'd implied in some initial correspondences with them. Thanks for reminding me though.. I'll contact them and ask for more details!

Chill out. You're not teaching the course by yourself. Remember when you were an undergrad? The semester usually starts slooowwwwlly and TAs don't usually do much at the beginning. Be ready to work your ass off around midterm season, and near the finals though... When you get there in the fall, you'll meet the prof who is teaching the course, s/he will give you the books or tell you how to order them, and will tell you what will be expected of you.

You're not the first one to go through this. Don't be too pushy with the administrative staff before you even get there. They are the people you really have to be nice to.