applying for psychology as internatinal student

shahravan

thanks for you'r reply. no, i studied clinical in my country and i want apply for phd in us, mayby cognitive psychology. i'm reading about applying but i'm confuse now. what is important for applyin as internatinal student, for example, how important it is to have article? or how important it is GER subject score?

Hi Shahravan, 

Here's what I learned- U.S psych programs require almost exclusively TOEFL (or at least 2 semesters of academic studies in English) AND for you to take the general GRE like everyone else. I advise you to contact departments you are interested in applying to ahead of time to ask if they could give you a general idea of what scores they're looking for on both the TOEFL and the GRE. While the TOEFL score is usually a mere pre-requisite (meaning- you need to get above a certain score, often 100, to be eligible for the program), your GRE score is what determines your level of competitiveness. In short- it doesn't really matter how good your TOEFL score is (as long as it's good enough), but the quality of your GRE score matters a lot. 

GRE subject test in psychology, as far as I know, is not required for most programs and definitely does not replace the general GRE. I haven't taken the subject test and still got invited to interview. However, it is usually recommended and can serve to better your chances. Same goes for publishing- not required but if you have published it would make you more competitive (again- I haven't published yet, but have given presentations in my field). 

A big problem for international applicants is funding. If you can secure outside funding for your education (or, conversely, if you have a way of obtaining a green card) than you absolutely should do it. Look at TakeruK's last reply to this thread: 

Hope that helps. Will be happy to answer any more questions as best as I can!

Hi Shahravan,