Gap Year: What to do while waiting for Grad School

arthistorydream

Sounds a bit silly, but I quit my retail job cold turkey to peruse real goals. After a while of soul-searching I decided I absolutely love Art and would love to be an Art History Professor. Well this epiphany didn't come onto me until a little too late. I am egger to enroll into a program, but most dead lines are passed. I know University of AZ and University of Indiana are accepting applicants in the spring. However, these are not my top choices. In the tedious wait game of getting into grad school, what is the best use of my time? Should I try to get a part time job in an art gallery? I have a 4 yr degree in Graphic Design. Should I try to volunteer over seas in an art program (if there is one) while polishing my language requirement? I have filled my time taking GRE classes, and taking the exam, also visiting potential schools. I don't want to waste my time; I rather build my resume towards grad school or at least something. What are you all currently working on?

When you say get a job in an art gallery - does this mean your interest is in contemporary art? Most galleries are actually not hiring right now and most jobs in the "art world" are now through internships that are volunteer-based only and most are up to the discretion of the person you wish to work under.

In school did you take any art history classes? Most graduate schools require between 12-20 credits (average is 16) in art history classes before they consider you an worthy candidate who knows what they want. You do have the option to attend more university classes in art history and build a repertoire with your professors who will write you awesome recommendations. Also, if you satisfy this minimum requirements the schools may require you to take even MORE undergraduate art history classes (at a grad level price) before they even enroll you in an upper level course.