Reapplying to History PhD Programs with an MA

nicacar

Hell All. I graduated from UCSD with a BA in History (2008). My GPA (2.9) and GRE (440V/650Q) clearly were not good. BUT I decided to apply to doctoral programs in History (Middle East focus) in 2007 anyways. The only school that accepted me was the University of Arizona for an MA program in Near Eastern Studies. So far I am doing really well in my MA program and have a high GPA. I am going to retake the GRE in October. My question is - will having an MA in Near Eastern Studies increase my chances for being accepted into a PhD program in History (with a Middle East emphasis), provided that my GRE scores improve significantly? What I really want to know is whether or not a high graduate school GPA can offset a low undergraduate GPA?

Thank you for your input, everyone.

I would think so. A lot of students apply with MAs - it's not rare by any means. Your graduate GPA sounds like it will work nicely, but anything too far away from a 3.8-4.0 range will be a red flag. Graduate GPAs seem to be a lot higher, on average, than undergrad.

Are you doing a thesis?

My Graduate GPA was 3.85, but I did a thesis, which means I took two less classes. I'm sure--because my grades improved during my years in the MA program, that I would have received two A, which would have bumped up my GPA a bit. Now, I missed out on those grades, but my thesis will be the only reason I'm a really competitive applicant.

Cooperstreet, Thanks for your response. Yes, I will be doing a thesis in the Spring semester. I am hoping that completing a thesis will make me more competitive since I will be using primary documents in my primary languages. Did you wait to finish your thesis before applying to PhD programs? What field of History are you in?