Psychology to CJ? Help Needed. :-)

Hi everyone,

I am considering pursuing a PhD in criminal justice, but am in need of some advice/guidance. To sum it up: I graduated with a BS in psychology in 2012, and planned on going to graduate school for psych. However, my research interests are all justice-oriented topics (e.g. issues like violence prevention, risk assessment, interventions to reduce recidivism, etc). As a result, one of my advisers has suggested I look into CJ programs in addition to/instead of psych programs.

I have heard that criminological theory is focused on punishment and deterrance, rather than prevention/intervention (which is what I am interested in). Can anyone here comment if this is true? If so, does this mean I would primarily receive training in punishment/deterrance strategies/theory in CJ? Or does this depend on the school/your advisor? Most psych PhD programs are set up with a mentorship model (e.g. you have one primary research advisor during your program), is this also true for CJ? Also, I am interested in working directly with police departments and courts to help them create/provide more effective services for perpetrators and victims of crime. Would a graduate program in CJ/Crim allow me to do this? Or is it less action oriented and more theoretical? What are some differences between CJ/Crim programs? It seems like the programs I have seen are both CJ and Crim combined?