Trapped in a dead-end Senior Project while having No offer...

lenzslaw

Hey guys, 

I am a senior undergrad applying for EE 15 Fall PhDs, in the field of nanophotonics. 

While I changed my major from Biomedical Engineering to Electrical Engineering during sophomore year, two of my somehow fruitful research experiences in CV are not relevant to EE at all (genetic engineering actually) and the only related research I do have is my senior project, which I tried to mention in my SOP/CV...but now I am trapped in a dead-end bad project. How should I prove that I may be as qualified as other applicants while having no publications/research progress when contacting a potential professor? 

I am attending my undergrad is in a 3rd-world university. It has a super-mini EE department (<30 Profs and half of them are actually in BME)  The group I work for senior project has no serious publication for two years...and what they (try to) do is silicon integrated optics...after desperately working on some nonlinear in silicon devices(nonlinear in silicon devices!) with NO permission to clean room (a.k.a waiting for some post-doc to make device for me to test on) and get NO workable device actually...see, that's the dead-end of the first semester. My supervisor says, well-yeah, why don't we start to work on nonlinearity on photonic crystals? 

So now, I (am being forced to) try to work on nonlinearity in photonic crystal while NOBODY else in this university has ever worked on PhC, (except a new-coming AP who just had a fresh start and hasn't got any PhD candidates yet) and I have less than 3 months left to make some 'reportable results', and it must to be linked to nonlinearity since it has to be a continue of my one and only one senior project, for me to graduate (as defined by the department).  

Meanwhile, I am trying to deal with the fact that I got ZERO phd offer up to now...