Switching Institutions

screencheck

I am currently in my second semester of a Phd Program. I've come to realize that my current institution is not the best fit for me. Since this realization I have contacted POIs at better fit schools about applying next fall. So far, I have received nothing but positive responses. I'm just curious if anybody here has successfully switched institutions part way through a Phd program. If so, do you have any tips? thanks!

Hi! I'm in my second year of an interdisciplinary program and decided to switch over to anthropology. I got accepted into a great school, and I'm deciding whether I should do it or not. The school I am considering has a lot more money, while my program is suffering financially. On the other hand, if I do move I will essentially be starting all over - 2 years of coursework gone (I might be able to transfer a couple of courses, but that's not really going to make much of a dent time wise.) If I stay I'll have just another year of courses and then take my comps.

So Pros for moving: more money, better intellectual fit

Pros for staying: I'll finish much earlier (but will struggle with money)

From what I understand you'll be in a similar position - 2 years of coursework done before you move. One thing to ask about from the get go is how many credits you'll be able to transfer to see how much you can salvage through the transition.

Good luck!

great to know there is somebody else in the same boat! My pro and con list is pretty similar, however I am not as concerned about basically starting again, I've mentally prepared for that. It seems to me that, in the big scheme of things, a year or so isn't a big deal if I'm doing what's interesting to me and I have a good funding package. Also during these two years I'll have done other things besides course work that will have been useful to me.