American University - SIS MA Program for an Academic Career?

ugurcanevci

Hello everyone!

I am an international Fulbright scholar for master's degree, and IIE applied to American University SIS - Comparative and Regional Studies MA program in behalf of me, and my advisor stated that I have a good chance of getting an acceptance from there. However, I would like to pursue an academic career, and I actually saw that American University's program is much more towards professional work life, rather than academic path. As an international student, I wanted to hear comments of you people :) What do you think? would studying at American University SIS deflect my academic career aims, meaning I should withdraw this application, or shall I just still keep it as an option? I heard that it is one of the best international relations programs there, but still I have my doubts about the career path.

Please note that the scholarship is only for MA programs, and therefore I am not looking for PhD programs for now. I will be pursuing a PhD degree after my master's, that is for sure though.

Cheers!

Edit:

Here are my other applications:

1- NYU Political Science

2- U Washington Henry M. Jackson - International Affairs Middle Eastern Studies

3- American SIS

4- New School - Politics

5- UIUC - Middle Eastern Studies

Edited by ugurcanevci

A full ride to SIS is a great way to get a master's degree for use in policy and professional applications, but if you're interested in academia, then you're far better off by attending NYU, which is a top-15 school in terms of academic preparation.

That's not to impugn SIS at all - again, it's a great professional program - it's simply to point out that academic training is different than policy-oriented training.