Is my scenario completely hopeless? Any advice will be greatly appreciated.

I'm not exactly sure where to start. I received my MA last year from NYU's Department of Interdisciplinary Studies. I'm an African student who was born and raised in England, but I came to the U.S. before college. My field was anthropology; in fact, the Draper program at NYU allowed me to take multiple courses. My thesis was more anthropologically-based (about the apartheid in South Africa). But my goal is to get a PhD in African Lit.

I got some stronger letters of recommendation and studied for the GRE like a fiend. I even got laid off from my temp job, which I took as a blessing, because I worked on my apps.

I just received my 3rd rejection letter this morning. I have 4 schools left to hear from: Penn, CUNY, Rutgers, and NYU.

While I was waiting for the responses, I applied for New York teaching certification via alternate route. I passed the praxis and am currently looking for some teaching jobs. In the meantime, I'm still working as a temp so I can pay my bills.

I feel so incredibly hopeless when it comes to the PhD application process. I don't know what more I can do. I worked myself into the ground for this application season, but it still wasn't good enough. I suffered with depression and anxiety over the GRE and ended up in the hospital twice because of it. I'm also now going through the worst possible breakup, and I feel like such a failure.

Am I a complete failure, or do I have a shot at next application's cycle? Should I go to grad school again for a Master's in comp lit? Do I need more research experience? I'm totally nonplussed. Any advice will be greatly appreciated.