"You are recommended for admission" vs. "You are admitted"

thegraydude

This one is really troubling me these days. I got into two schools of my choice and got TA offers from both (more or less the same amount of money).

University A is my first choice and it says "We are pleased to recommend you for admission into the Computer Science department".

University B says: "I am pleased to inform you of your admission into B to study Computer Science PhD".

I have accepted A's offer; and signed, scanned, and emailed my acceptance to them. However, I cannot decline B's offer because of this recommended for admission clause that A has sent meThat means it is not official yet. A says that my acceptance (and other material) has been passed on to their "Office of Admissions" and they will then issue I-20. This should take 2-3 weeks.

Meanwhile, B has given me until 15th of April to accept or decline the TA position that they are offering me.

I am an international student, and I am not familiar with what would be best in this situation. I definitely do not want to respond to B until my I-20 has been issued by A. I have read here on GradCafe that if, in case of international students, funding is not available, Office of Admissions might decline department's recommendation for my admission. In any case, I want to hear A has sent my I-20 before 15th of April but I cannot force them either.

My dilemma is how do I tell Office of Admissions at A that I need their official decision of admission (and I-20) until the 15th of April before I respond to B's offer. I am not sure I can contact Office of Admissions directly and tell them to "hurry up". That would be rude.

Any suggestions about what is best for me in this case?