Help me! GRE AWA score

hyo

I am an international student who wants to major English literature in ph.D program in USA.

I took GRE test last month, and got 720(V), 770(Q).

However, I got an awefully low score in AWA, 3.5.

Do you think this(low writing score) affects hugely on admission process?

Besides this, I got almost perfect GPA.

As long as I write great SOP and writing sample, can my application be considered by the committee at least, or be screened out at first because of AWA socre?

This is very important for me because I am considering to take another GRE test next month. Or should I concentrate on my SOP and sample writing?

Please, give me useful advice. As an international student, I do not have a person to ask and get information.

I would guess (and this is strictly a guess) that if you have a great SOP and writing sample, programs will overlook the low AWA score. From what I've read, most schools rely more on the SOP and writing sample to gauge individuals' writing abilities than the AWA score anyway. But it may depend on the particular program and specific department...

From the admissions people I talked to I would say that your AWA score would ring some alarms, especially since your major is English lit. But judging by your post it looks like you have a good handle on the English language so you should score better.

Maybe your approach was wrong. How did you study for the AWA? Did you download the ETS software and see their sample essays? Those are very helpful. This might be a ridiculous question, but did you try to memorize some essays your wrote and then try to adapt them to the essay question/issue? I know that sounds silly, but I know some people who would try to approach the test this way and it will always fail.