MS Epidemiology then PhD Nutrition or vice versa?

~Lemonmacaron

Hello all (please move if this isn't in the right area),

I'm currently a sophomore in undergrad deciding what to do with my career. My biggest interest is in nutrition currently, and I could see myself doing research as part of a team in a teaching hospital or academic department. I'm worried, however, that there aren't many openings available for nutrition researchers (I've tried searching job websites, the NIH, FDA, etc.). I'm thinking that going through an epidemiology program would give me practical training to find a job, but I don't know if it would be possible to specialize in nutritional epidemiology within a general epidemiology program. Many programs I have looked into focus on infection control, epidemics, etc. whereas I'm more interested in studying patterns between nutritional habits and subsequent development or delay of disease.

So what I'm thinking of doing so far would be completing a MS program in epidemiology to get the training needed to become an epidemiologist, and then applying to a PhD program in nutrition to obtain more advanced knowledge of nutrition and apply skills from the epidemiology program to do research. I'm hoping this would make me more marketable, as I would prefer to stay in the Midwest if possible. Is this a feasible idea, or would it look strange to have a MS and PhD in two different areas? Or, would it be better to switch the two and do a MS in nutrition then a PhD in epidemiology?

Thanks for your help!

Have you looked into Nutritional Epidemiology PhD programs? For what you want to do, I would think that your primary focus would be in epidemiology. Some epidemiology programs may be especially strong in the subfield of nutritional epidemiology, but I think nutrition programs tend to be tailored toward working as an RD. While you may do research while in a nutrition program, fewer graduates go into research.