Choosing an MSW Program!

onefellswoop

Hello!  So I'm totally new to GradCafe, so definitely let me know if I'm doing something wrong!

I recently was accepted to a couple of MSW programs.  My girlfriend applied to engineering PhD programs in all the same cities as I applied to, so we were hoping we could make a decision on which city to end up in!  She got into UMass Amherst which is like, where she really wants to go! And I got into Smith College's School of Social Work.  So feasibly, we could accept those offers and go live in Western Mass! However, I was also accepted to UPenn and Case Western and University of Washington (she was also accepted to schools in those cities, but she doesn't love them as much as UMass).  I guess I'm wondering how much it will matter if I go to Smith instead of those other programs.  Social work programs seem to be pretty inconsistently ranked and I'm not sure who else to ask!  I'm not positive I'll want to get a PhD in social work at a later stage in my life, but if I did, will it affect my PhD application if my masters is from a smaller school rather than a bigger, often more highly ranked program?
Thank you so much and sorry this post is so long!

I honestly do not feel as though ranking matters in MSW programs in any way, shape or form. You want to go to a program that fits your needs and goals. If you want to specialize, you'll need to choose a program that offers that specialization. If you don't, then choose a program that is generalist in its philosophy.