Undergrad Soph--What can I do?

tpottebaum

Hey everyone,

I am a going into my second year at DePaul University, and I've (quite enthusiastically) decided that I want to get my masters in public policy. Now I am left wondering what I can do in order to give myself the best chances of getting into a good program.

I am majoring in economics and minoring in political science. I have a 4.0 GPA after my first year, got a position as an Undergraduate Writing Fellow, and am the membership director of the school's largest Democratic Party organization. I'm also expecting to have a leadership position in a community service organization I was involved in last year.

So, other than keeping a high GPA and studying for the GRE, what else can I do? Would it be wise to pursue some kind of congressional internship? That's something I'm really hoping to do.

I'm not sure if this can apply to you as well, but participate in research, get papers published, attend conferences (volunteer also), etc. It's good to know that you thought this far ahead.

You're doing exactly what you need to do by majoring in political science and economics with high grades. Make sure to take plenty of statistics, linear regression, and calculus. The more the better. Picking up a relevant second (or third) language is always helpful.

I wouldn't worry as much about academic conferences and publications and what-not, because MPP programs are generally less interested in that type of thing than they are real-world policy experience. A congressional internship sounds great to help you in that process. I believe (look this up to confirm it) that MPP programs want real-world, policy-oriented recommendations, so always consider who might write you letters when you apply.

(keep in mind that I'm not in an MPP program so I might not be the best person to answer this question - I've just taken some classes from a policy school as part of an interdisciplinary MA)

Thanks for the suggestions, everyone.