Georgetown vs. Dartmouth

sintura

Hi everyone! I need some help here.

I am a Literature undergrad and got accepted to the Comparative Lit. Masters at Dartmouth and to the English Masters at Georgetown. I really want to pursue a career in academics and wish to continue on to a Ph.D in Comparative Lit. after my masters. 

I was offered full tuition and a fellowship at Dartmouth, nothing at Georgetown but I can afford Georgetown on a government loan from my country.

I was born and have always lived in a very big, populated city and I am afraid Dartmouth would be difficult to get used to, given its location.

What would yo do in my place????

Go to Dartmouth. 100K+ in debt isn't worth it to live in a big city. Yeah Dartmouth is small but the school is excellent and you can suck it up for 2 years. Plus with the money you save you can travel.

Hello,

I am currently at Georgetown and love it. The city is great and the school is great.

Although Washington, D.C. is probably 100000x better than Hanover (and the very thought of living in Hanover... *shudder*), in this case the choice is easy. Go to Dartmouth. Both are highly prestigious universities (well, I guess Dartmouth is a college but you get the point), both would definitely be great names on your resume when applying to Ph.Ds, but the cost of living in D.C. is extraordinarily high and it's not worth going so much into debt for a master's, especially when you got a full tuition funding on top of a fellowship at Dartmouth. 

Whatever you decide, good luck and congrats to you! But I strongly advise you to pick Dartmouth. 

I received my MA from Georgetown's english program, and it's a fantastic program. I feel like in my two years there, I became a more critical thinker as well as a stronger writer. I developed my formerly broad scholarly interests. I really can't say enough about the intellectual atmosphere and the supportive faculty.