UMass Amherst vs U of Edinburgh for Machine Learning PhD

SaulGoodman

I have admits from these two universities and having a tough time deciding what to do. Please help me. I will be working in machine learning and have good research background in this field. I was a Math major in undergrad with very limited CS coursework. After graduation I will be looking to join one of the big industry research labs. Would also be exploring the possibility of a start-up in this field alongside my PhD. I will be an international student at either place.

University of Edinburgh

This is the course: http://datascience.inf.ed.ac.uk/

Pros:

1) Good overlap of research interests, freedom in choosing advisor

2) Some really good courses in areas of interest

3) Lots of faculty in all areas of ML (see http://datascience.inf.ed.ac.uk/people/)

4) Can finish PhD in about 4 years

5) Top 3 European university

Cons:

1) Europe! Not sure about future prospects. Have heard international students find it very difficult to get jobs in Europe or US.

2) Degree not as well regarded? Have heard that post-doc (preferably in US) is almost necessary. If someone could comment on this?

3) Stipend just barely sufficient to cover basic living costs (from what I have gathered)

4) Extreme weather!

UMass Amherst

Pros:

1) US! Job opportunities after graduation are relatively more abundant. Research internships at good places easier to get.

2) Chance to do basic coursework in CS (databases, systems etc)

3) Better stipend (than Edinburgh for the cost of living)

Cons:

1) Not a very good fit with research interests. A couple of people are doing work which I will enjoy, but it is not guaranteed that I get to work with them.

2) Small number of faculty in ML - mostly in NLP and IR.

3) Not sure if there is enough freedom in choosing advisor

4) 5+ years to graduation (have heard it generally takes even longer)

Overall both universities are similarly ranked.