Profile Evaluation for MS statistics or ML

QGim

Dear all,

I graduated about a year ago and have been working as a data analyst whilst pursuing my interest in topics such as statistical analysis, machine learning, and data mining. I have been studying the topics by reading textbooks, taking online courses, and creating weekly meeting study groups. But in order to better understand the topics, I find myself eager to go deeper in my studies in a more formal setting.

So I want to get an evaluation of my profile and want to know how to strengthen my chance of getting a good program.

My profile is :

I am an international

Undergrad: US institution, top 15 national university in US News

Majors in mathematics and economics, GPA 3.61

Pretty bad grades from junior level math courses: matrix algebra (B+), calc. of several variables (B-), foundations for higher mathematics ( B)

I was mainly interested in statistics so the senior courses I took are:

Probability (A-)

Mathematical statistics (A)

Intro to Bayesian stats (A)

Linear stats models (B+)

Advanced linear stats models (A)

Statistical computation (A)

Survival analysis (B+)

Awarded Distinction in Mathematics

gre scores: V 155, Q 166, W 3.5

Three letters of recommendation from math professors. I have known two of them for years and taken classes.

I am thinking of applying for FL 2016. What should I do to strengthen my chance? I am worried about my low gpa.

Also I want to do something productive after work to prepare for grad school.

(I am not sure what I really want to do after master tho. I might work as a research assistant of a professor or in a research institute bc I am kind of interested in pursuing phd too)

Thank you all in advance!

Best, 

Edited by TakeruK
edited a personal detail