Another Program Decision Topic: MAS vs PhD

Hi All,

I am currently deciding between a few PhD (generally ranked in the 15-30 range in NRC/US News) programs and Michigan's Master of Applied Statistics Program. I am just wondering if I am being crazy for potentially passing up guaranteed funding offers in favor of an MAS program that doesn't guarantee funding (though I understand that a GSI position is very likely, as I am a domestic student).

A little background on my goals and why I am strongly considering the MAS program:

1) I am undecided as to whether I ultimately want a PhD. It seems to me that an MAS would play better in terms of industry jobs than the incidental MS earned along the way to a PhD (should I drop from a PhD program).

2) If I decided to pursue a PhD, I could reapply during my second year. I understand that an MAS isn't a natural transition into a PhD program; however, I would plan on taking Real Analysis, Measure Theory, and Measure-Theoretic Probability (and whatever other higher-level Stats/Math courses my schedule would allow) while enrolled.

3) I was "shut out" of the top schools that I applied to this year so to speak. I understand that ranking isn't everything, but my hyper-competitive side wants to see if I can improve on that. I believe that the two weakest points on my application were (I) the lack of higher-level math courses and (II) the lack of strong academic recommendations. Hopefully, I would be able to fix those two while doing the MAS. Of course, if the primary reasons for my rejections were something else, then I'm SOL.