Chances at Econ Phd with Statistics masters

bsatyadarshi

Hi Everyone,

I was wondering if some folks here can help me with the following.

I did my masters in Statistics from Indian Statistical Institute and passed in first division with distinction with a pretty good GPA (this is considered as the best institute for statistics in India) in 2006 and have been working in the corporate sector which involves application of statistics, mathematics and machine learning.

Recently, I have been more interested in economics and would like to go for a Phd in the same. However, my problem is though I have had training in almost all advanced math and stat. courses, I didn't have too many economics courses at my masters or undergraduation except one micro-econ course I took at my masters.

Assuming I will get good GRE scores and I will also get good recommendations from my former profs and supervisors in my current organization, I was wondering what my chances are at a good (say, in top 20) econ phd programs? I am confident of getting into some good statistics phd programs. But at this point, I am more interested in economics. If I don't stand any chance of making it to the top 20 because of my lack of econ background, I would rather try for statistics.

Any suggestions please?

• 2 months later...

Hi Everyone,

I was wondering if some folks here can help me with the following.

I did my masters in Statistics from Indian Statistical Institute and passed in first division with distinction with a pretty good GPA (this is considered as the best institute for statistics in India) in 2006 and have been working in the corporate sector which involves application of statistics, mathematics and machine learning.