Question about Paper Revision Request

Hi everyone! I have a question about a requested revision for publication.

Over a year ago (and in my first term as an MA student), I submitted a conference paper for a graduate student conference proceedings book. After a couple of months, I was notified that the paper had been accepted and to expect the publication to be printed in around 6 months. I was sent some paperwork to sign saying that I gave permission for my paper to be published in this conference proceeding; I signed the paperwork and sent it on its way. I didn't hear anything for a long time and, of course, life went on - I graduated from my MA, took on a rigorous writing job, accepted an offer to start a PhD, and so on and so forth. Quite honestly, I sort of forgot about the paper and conference proceedings.

This morning, I was emailed by the editor who I had sent the signed paperwork to all those many, many months ago. They told me that I need to significantly revise the paper and gave me less than a month to do so. In a nutshell, they want me to erase half of my argument, re-write the paper to only focus on one aspect of my argument, look at this side of the argument in a deeper way, and make the paper significantly longer. And after over a year, many semesters, and a thesis between me and that paper, I will fully agree that the paper needs revision.