Best Student Affairs/College Personnel Programs

SAgal

Hello!

In my university, I have been very involved in student leadership. I've been a Resident Assistant, Senior Resident Assistant (head/leader of an RA staff), on the university's academic integrity board, student conduct board, peer mentor, and have founded a club. I want to continue working with college students, so I am pursuing a masters in student affairs/college personnel/higher education (so many different program names)!

I will be applying this upcoming fall for programs that start in the fall of 2016. I'm looking for a prestigious program that focuses on student counseling and development. I'd also like a program with plenty of assistantships.

What are your thoughts?

Also, is it true that student affairs programs that "require" the GRE don't place much weight on it? I have a stellar GPA, but will be taking the GRE at the end of the summer. I'd like to only have to take it once.

You seem like you have plenty of experience to apply to Master's programs right out of undergrad. I just finished the grad school search, but I was looking at programs focused less on counseling and more on administration/policy. If you have questions about the specific schools in my signature, let me know!

You can start your search here:

http://grad-schools.usnews.rankingsandreviews.com/best-graduate-schools/top-education-schools/student-counseling-rankings

I would also look at the recent issues of the ACPA's Journal of College Student Development and see what schools have members on the board + faculty who publish in it.

Could you clarify what you mean by prestigious? Education schools don't really come with the same ~*prestige*~ importance as business or law schools, for instance, and rankings from U.S. News and World Report aren't super relevant. Experience is the most valuable part of the hiring process after graduating, so you want to make sure you have the right assistantship/internships during grad school.