To PhD or not to PhD...

This may be a bit long so bear with me… So, I'm new in my field (about a year in), that I've been wanting to do since I was a kid. This is the field I love and couldn't picture my self doing anything else. I also consider myself very ambitious and want to go very far in my field. I 'd eventually like to be a leader and start my own consulting business (it could potentially be a very lucrative side hustle #multiplestreamsofincome  :P ). My field is pretty hard to break into. Fortunately, I was able to break in with only my B.S. degree, I beat out people with years of experience/higher education than me. I've been reaching out to people in my field finding mentors and whatnot and it has been echoed to me by a few people that I respect (involved in professional organizations, directors of their workplaces, etc.) that getting my PhD would be beneficial for me, financially (one of my mentors said I'd be able to jump into a good, high paying job after because I'd have the industry experience + the education. and I realize its one persons opinion, albeit he knows his shit) and personally. I also feel it in my gut that if I don't go back to school (at least Masters) I WILL be "left out" so to speak in 10-15 years.

My reasons for getting a PhD wouldn't be for just career/financial stability, I love my field and want to be part of advancing it, which I feel like I could be a part of from doing so searching on the interwebs. 

Would getting it be worth it? A few things I'm nervous about: 1) being overqualified 2) opportunity costs for being out of the workforce for years (even tho I COULD potentially make more over my life I do go) and 3) taking a "pay cut" so to speak. It wouldn't be a crazy pay cut but I'm not so sure how funding/getting paid works when you're a PhD etc. I also have a supportive SO, so that really helps.