Fear of Grad School Admission

ronny3050

Hello all!

This is my first post on this forum and to be honest, I am freaking out a little bit. I would like explain a little bit of my situation and let you all know what my dreams are. I greatly appreciate anyone willing to spend their precious time to read this and to help me out.

I will be a senior this fall and I have a gpa of 3.55/4.0 (but it might go a tad bit lower due to poor grades). I do have a publication in a journal and a conference and am in the process of working with another professor throughout summer to hopefully yield another publication. I will giving my GRE this July. I am majoring in CS and minoring in Math and 'Game Design and Development'. 

I am extremely interested in academics and especially in the field of Computer Vision and AI as a whole. My dream is to get straight into a PhD program in a very good CS school like Carnegie Mellon or MIT, however, my biggest fear is the lack of a strong GPA will bring me down.

I am worried sick and I know that the classes ahead of me will only bring my gpa down. I am unsure how much my research experience is going to help with my application or if they won't even see all that after just taking a look at my gpa.

Once more, I greatly appreciate anyone trying to help me and I thank you for your time and patience.

GPA is just one criterion. 3.55 is a decent GPA and you don't have to worry. You are in a good situation to get good reco letters from professor you are working under. If you get 3 good letters from professors and if you maintain your GPA around 3.5 there is nothing to fear. Recommendation letters from reputed professors helps a lot. Research experience helps and you need to sell that in your SOP and mention that you are very much passionate about research. There are other good schools in top 10 as well for CV and AI like WashU, UMass Amherst, UMich, UPenn etc. You can try those as well. They are good for CV and AI.