When to get the PhD

clou99

Hi Board,

I am 31 years old and am facing one of those life decision moments, so I am hoping like minded people could help out.

I have been teaching for 6 years. I did Teach for America, taught in urban and virtual schools in America and currently, I teach abroad in Asia. I just finished my master's in ed.policy in global studies at UIUC. Given my breadth of experiences and my interests in international ed. policy, I want to go back to get my PhD and my professors and advisor are quite insistent that I enroll ASAP. However given the current economic status of the nation. I am a bit leery. I don't know if a $15,000 fellowship will allow me to do things such as...eat. :D Also, I like my job here and make good money, not to mention I am able to save quite a bit. Even though my work and living situation is great and is often subject of admiration from peers in the USA, I long to get my PhD and feel that my brain is not being challenged and that I am not beginning my research.

My question is when was the right time for you? Thank you for your stories.

Same age and I feel you. The decision to return to school just gets more complicated with every year. My decision making process was both practical and spiritual.

Practically speaking, I did not have children or a partner that I had I to consider. I had a job, not a career. I figured the economy was going to take every bit of 7 to 8 years to shake out and regain any kind of real growth.

Spiritually, i decided that having a life filled with things that inspire me was more important than a job or stuff. When I was ready to let go of all of my attachments I knew I was finally ready for the journey.

So, no one can say for sure when it is a good time to make that move. However, I do think it is should be a decision that is both practical and individually right for you on whatever deeper level you believe in.

good luck.

Hi, clou99.