Is AWA 4.0 too low for Sociology?

Elaine_hfyy

Hi everyone, I plan to apply for a Ph.D in sociology next fall (2016 fall semester) and recently took my GRE exam with V 161, Q 164, AWA 4.0. I would like to apply for programs within top 30.

I know that 4.0 probably is too low for a phd in social sciences since writing is such an essential skill.

More about myself -- English is not my first language but I did a master in public policy in the U.S. and I am working in the U.S. now. My GPA is 3.84/4.0 for master and 3.7/4.0 for undergrad. I don't think my writing skill is at 4.0 level but I admit that I am not good at writing with an aggressive time frame.

Is it possible to make up for my poor AWA performance with personal statement and writing sample? Should I consider retaking GRE to improve my AWA score?

Any thoughts and comments are appreciated. Thank you in advance!

Usually I would say not to waste the money and retake the exam. However, since you would most likely be applying as an international student it may be advantageous to study a bit more and take the exam once more (if it's financially possible). Try to score at least since a 4.5 (80th percentile) since the AWA is a category that is used to filter international applicants. Other than that write a strong SoP and get strong LORs since the other parts of your profile seem solid.

Thank you Eteshoe! Just one follow up -- when you said they use AWA 4.5 to filter international students, did you mean probably they are not going to proceed in reading other part of applicant profiles (SoP, LoRs, etc.)?