Question on UC System

Hi folks,

I'm finalizing my list of PhD programs to apply to and I was curious if anyone has information re: UC schools and whether they should be on my list. Some of the grad students I spoke to advised against applying to the UC schools, because apparently they are undergoing massive funding cuts (aren't all schools?). The students I spoke to seemed to think funding would be especially unlikely and/or volatile. There are a few UC schools for which I have pretty good fit, though, so I'm curious whether this checks out. I feel like I might have read something to this effect a long time ago, but it might have been for something else. If relevant, i'd count as an international student.

Also, outside of UC but in the same area: any thoughts on Cal Tech? There seems to be some interesting work coming out of there, but I haven't heard much about it on here (which I guess is a bad sign).

Thanks in advance!

I'm still pretty new to California (only have been here a few years) but I do know that some people at UC schools were worried recently because at the last election, there was a critical proposition that needed to be passed to avoid huge cuts to UC schools. Luckily it did pass, so that worry is over, but I guess being a big public state school, there's always worry that voters/government will choose to axe funding. For example, other states (e.g Wisconsin) are choosing to make their budget cuts in education :(.