Applying with a fellowship?

nhpn

hi everyone!

I am a Mechanical guy. I have won a fellowship of 27K for each of the first two years. I also got recommendations from two profs of the US National Academy. ( i am an international student and the fellowship from the US goverment ).

My profile: CGPA 3.66 from an unheard school, GRE: V 470, Q 780, W 3.0, no research experience.

I am applying to 14 Us in Top 30 , including Berkeley, Caltech, WUSTL, University of Texas - Austin and Columbia.

I know it hard to tell exactly what uni i could get in, but, any rough idea?

Thank you for sharing!

Hey, congrats on the fellowship - it should be a tremendous boost to your application (fellowships are prestigious and the schools don't have to take care of your tuition/stipends etc). Can you tell us what fellowship this is ?

Also, I believe most top schools will probably look for research potentials so you want to improve upon that. Any previous project ? Doesn't have to yield good results ..

• 2 weeks later...

hi tvn,

thanks for sharing!

The fellowship is Vietnam Education Foundation (VEF), which is established by the US government and exclusively for Vietnamese.

yeah, i got some projects to show, but dont sound like real researchs.

What i want to know is how important is the sum of 54k and the letters of recommendation?

Any way, i have submitted to most of the Univs. Now just wait n see.

regards

I have heard great things about the VEF - Although it is not as popular as NSF, NDSEG or the like since it is only for specific group (Vietnamese), however it is still well-known. Fellowship is good since the school does not have to take care of you - in short, you come to work (research) for them free of charge so it boosts your chance in that sense. Also schools like to brag that their students are fellows of this and that. I know UIUC in particular has accepted many Vietnamese student sponsored by VEF.