Graduate Housing for CUNY- The Graduate Center

ravyn

Hey all ( ...well, not all... just those who know about CUNY- The Graduate Center and it's graduate housing)

I have received an email from them about living in a four-bedroom. So I have an offer! I just need to either accept it or decline it. I am STRONGLY thinking of accepting it since this is my first time in such a "scary" city and am worried about how housing/rent works in NYC/surrounding areas.

I think the apartment is in East Harlem.

I am wondering what it's like living there. Is this a good option for someone who is ...not the best at figuring things out? 

Idk.... please, I want you to throw thoughts/concerns/questions/ANYTHING at me... I just want to make sure I am not going to spend TOO much on the Graduate housing and won't have enough to eat, get textboosk, and other things to survive/be slightly comfortable.

I am not big on having fun, so I don't plan on going out to drink often/clubs/things like that unless it is free... so I don't expect to have the "time of my life" I just want to be comfortable-ish.

Hey! So I live in East Harlem now and have been living here for two years, although Im not in the process of relocating to Oakland/Berkeley 

East Harlem is terrific, for me it was quite simply the only affordable neighborhood in Manhattan apart from Wash. Heights. One thing to remember is that the neighborhood is quite large and varies widely--I've always lived near 116th street and can say for sure that it's pretty ideal--terrific mexican food/ chuchfritos, access not only to the 6 train but also the m15 bus  going up first ave and down second ave, and pretty much walking distance from central park. The Grad Center is on 34th, meaning your commute to school would be ~30 mins via subway or the same via bicycle (There's a bike path that goes along the river, all the way down to 63rd street, entrances on 120th street and on 110th, if you don't feel comfortable biking on the avenues).