PhD Math Education without Prior Math Degree

patientpatient

Hi, all. 

I am a high school math teacher interested in pursuing a PhD in K-12 math education, most likely focused in Geometry and Algebra, based upon my conversations so far with potential advisors. I did not study math in college, nor in grad school (I did an Ed Policy Masters which is where I became further convinced of the need for improved math instruction). I have been in contact with several potential advisors and some outright said that I should go back and do a master's first (Vandy and Columbia and somewhat UVA) while others (Michigan, Michigan State) said that once I arrive at school, I could use a few of my elective credits to make up for this gap. I have self-studied (or MOOC'ed) several Calc courses and I have a pretty high Quant GRE score (167). 

I have phone calls lined up over the next few weeks with Stanford, Harvard and Penn and I realize that I have not yet told them about my lack of a math degree. Any advice for how I can demonstrate to them that I am a competent math student/teacher despite not having formal credentials in this area? Again, I am certainly willing to work toward closing this gap once enrolled -- I simply don't have the time or finances to take coursework at a university. 

Really this is a variation of the larger question about how much math math teachers should know to succesfully teach their subject. Ironically, many of the weaknesses that I have noted among other math teachers that I have observed stem from a superficial understanding of their subject. I don't believe that this is the case for me, but am I right that this might be an uphill battle? The very reason that I entered math education is because I was so turned off by math as a middle/high/and even college student. Still, I was always a successful math student, just not one that took too many courses beyond what was required.