Asking for LOR for later use (a special case)

Hello everyone!

I am a Linguistics major and graduating this year. I am now a research assistant at a linguistics lab. I am planning on applying to grad school after 1-2 years of working in the lab since I don't think I have enough research experience to compete in the applications to the top phd programs.

I studied abroad for a semester last year and took a course taught by a pretty big name in the field (everyone knows who he is). All of my professors from my home university advise me that I should get a LOR from him for grad school application.  The main reason why I would like to get a LOR from him now is that I am afraid he might not remember who I am if I asked him like a year later and that he is retiring soon (He is in his late 80s).

I know the common practice is to have the recommender to send the LORs directly to the schools I apply to but not through the applicant. I wonder if it would be weird if I asked the professor to send me a electronic copy so that I could use it later? 

Thank you!

Why don't you tell him the truth? That in a few years you will be applying to programs, but you thought it would be easier to have him write a letter for you now since the experience is fresh in his memory. Then ask if he wants to keep a copy saved on his HD until you give him the names of the programs to which you are applying, or if he would like to give you a copy now and have you handle it.