Masters in Computer Science with non-CS background

alex1719

Hi Everyone,

I graduated from an Ivy League school last year with a social science major and an economics/language minor. During the fall semester of my senior year I took an intro to CS class on a whim and ended up enjoying it far more than what I majored in - I decided to keep at it and for my last semester of school, I also signed up for discrete math and a more advanced programming class.

Since graduating, I got a full-time job in my major and gradually completed several other CS classes - through Harvard Extension and at a local school - in the evening. So far I've completed: Intro to OO Programming I, OO Programming II, Discrete Math, Data Structures, Computer Organization & Assembly Language and Database Systems. This fall I'm planning on completing Operating Systems, Analysis of Algorithms and maybe Software Engineering. I'm also going to take the GRE this fall and would like to apply to masters programs by the end of the year. So far, the CS grades I've received have been 2 As, 2 A-s and 2 B++s.

Because of my non-CS background, I'm not sure I'm doing all the right things to get into a good CS masters, nor am I sure what masters programs I'd even be able to reasonably get into. When I was doing my social science undergrad degree, I maintained a 3.7+ gpa, completed several internships and did some interesting research, but now it all seems irrelevant. When it comes to CS, I'll have about 9 classes on my transcript, most of them post-bac,

I'm not sure how I'd be able to stack up against applicants that majored in Computer Science and were involved in research/co-ops during undergrad. Is there anything I can do to make myself a stronger candidate? Also, what kind of programs might be worth looking into for someone like me?

Thanks!!!

I think your chances are almost as good as someone coming from a non-CS science major.