GRE studying

D.Locks

I studied quite extensively for the GRE, but I was originally anticipating applying to economics graduate programs and I was shooting for an 800 on the math section. For me, this required a lot of studying. I don't think anyone can tell you how much *you* need to study for the GRE - people vary in their ability at standardized tests and what their target score is. (There are other places on this forum where people have posted the scores required of some of the top programs, if you're curious.)

I do think you can change your test date for $50, so if you think this sitting is going to be a waste for you, it could be worth it. Check the ETS website for specific details.

If you go ahead with this and only have the last minute to study, I would recommend looking at some practice GREs (if you do not feel like buying a practice book, you can just go to a bookstore and sit down with one for a couple of hours) and make sure you have the directions down cold so that you do not have to spend any time reading them when you are taking the test. For example, it helped me to memorize the answer choices on the quantitative comparisons in the math section - (a) Column A is bigger (B) Column B is bigger © They're the same and (d) Not enough information. Knowing how each type of analytic writing essay is set up is another example of a time-saver.

Hope these last-minute tips helped, and good luck!