Am I wasting my time?

JenniferinFL

I am an undergrad history student at UCF. I am about to start my Junior year, with a 3.88 GPA. Right now I test at B1 level in Italian, German and French. I could probably get my Spanish up there pretty quickly too. Most language studies I have done on my own, however, I took  French through the intermediate level ln in college.  I just love languages.  My main historical interest is in Eastern Europe during the Communist era, with a deep interest in the GDR.  

The thing is, I'm old. I am retired from the military with a pension and I'm 45. I don't even know if I can get into a grad program at my age. I mean, I know it's done, but I believe it's rare. I am not concerned with making a lot of money one day. I have a good pension and medical care for life. I am more interested in research than teaching, but I would be willing to teach teach. I do know what sort of life and pay adjunct teaching would bring, but at my age and with an income, it's not as big of a deal. This would be about love, not money. 

I fear that I don't even have a shot at this, at my age and with a school like UCF.  

I am willing to relocate obviously and even Europe is an option.

Edited by JenniferinFL

One of my good friends, also a veteran, just graduated with his PhD from my MA school. He was in his fifties, and very much the department dad, and I have no doubt that he will find a job. Another friend also just graduated from my MA school with her PhD, and her degree was from UCF. The things you are worried about are not the issue. You are never too old, and I think that you are in a unique position to be able to do whatever you like, because you don't have to worry about how to finance your life. You have good grades and great language skills - I think you should speak to trusted professors about what your options are, and get great letters of reference. You should develop a topic that you feel is viable, and write the hell out of an SOP.