Profile for PhD in Statistics

Hello!

I am looking into applying for Statistics PhD programs, and I was hoping for some feedback/input. My background was originally in Psychology. I have a bachelors in Psych with minor in Math, masters in Psych, worked for 5 years in psych hospitals and social work. I've always loved Math, though, and I came back to school for a Masters in Math with concentration in Statistics. I'm loving the program! I graduate in December, and I am considering applying for PhD programs in Statistics.

1) Given my profile, if I was going to apply to 10 PhD in Statistics programs, what would be some recommendations of schools that I should look into? What programs would be within my range, maybe some reach, and some "safety" programs (if any?).

2) My GRE scores are from 3 years ago. I studied extremely hard for the Verbal portion, and that's my absolutely highest verbal score that I can get. In the Quant portion, I'm sure I could get a better score if I retook it now. However, if I do that, it is very likely that my verbal score will drop. Is it worth retaking it?

3) Part of my debate is applying this year vs waiting an extra year to apply. Pros of applying now: I would love to start the PhD program ASAP, it will probably be an easier transition than getting back to school after 2 years of working. Pros of waiting a year to apply: Less stress than applying for schools while finishing my thesis, maybe retaking the GRE again to improve my Quant score, a couple of years of experience working. However, I have read some comments where people recommended against waiting an extra year to apply because programs are becoming very difficult to get into. Thoughts regarding applying now with my current profile vs later?

Undergraduate:

Small state university in FL
Psychology with minor in Math
GPA: