Switching Concentrations after Graduating From a Program?

Vaulkhar

Hey all, 

I'm gonna try to keep what is a long story very short. I graduated this summer from a somewhat unique program. It was a transnational program in which I spent a year in the States and another year abroad in Europe working on the coursework for a Master's degree in modern Eastern European history and political science respectively. Then I spent a couple years back in the States writing the two theses for my respective universities. I just graduated this summer and received both degrees. Naturally, I'm thinking of going back to school! However, I am considering my options. I have always had a love for medieval history; particularly the history of the Anglo-Saxon Heptarchy and pre-Christian European religion. So much so that prior to my joining the afore-mentioned program I was strongly considering going to graduate school for medieval history but in the end I never applied. So I have a couple questions I wish to submit to these boards:

1: Does making such a drastic shift in concentration have any precedent? In other words, am I "stuck" on modern history now?

2: Will the degrees I have received benefit me at all during the application and review process, should I choose to actually make the shift?
3: Given the possible change up in concentration, I'm guessing that I would probably have to wait another two years or so just to get my languages up to snuff. Does anyone have any experience with good programs I should take a look at that deal with early Medieval history?

Thanks for an feedback. Aside from working slowly but surely on my theses, I've been out of the academic loop for a couple years.