Another "review my chances" thread

rev316

I'll make this as concise as possible-

Prep'n now, taking the GRE's in early Nov (should be enough time?).

Field: collaborative software / HCI / software engineering / web-related

UG University: UWEC (1st tier)

UG Dept: CS (comprehensive major)

GPA: 3.29

Type: I'm a domestic student

Academic Experience: two research projects (no publications-pretty much did it for fun)

Profesional Experience: 2 internships.

-One was non-research (but I was placed with my own project).

-The other was a "research" position with a top 5 CS company (near MiT)

GPA isn't hot, but I'm really hoping my LOR pull through. I really love doing research (wish I figured this out a bit earlier). Problem is, I'm not sure how far this'll take me. I tend to be an over-reacher (if that makes any sense).

So my question is, what types of schools will admit me for a 1) PhD and/or 2) M.S. student. The whole grad school thing sprouted on me awfully fast. I kinda looking for a pick-me-up (well, an honest one). My apologizes for the long list, but they're my target schools at the moment.

-MIT

-CMU

-UIUC

-UCSB

-USC

-UCSD

-UCLA

-UCI

-UCD

-GeorgiaTech

-Purdue

-UF

-SUNY

-UT-Austin

-Boston U

-UArizona

-UMassa-Amherst

-Cornell University

SUNY isn't a school; it stands for State University of New York. There are many schools in the SUNY system and they all are completely independent (except for the fact that they all receive NY state funding).

A big factor that you did not list is the quality of letters of recommendations that you are going to get. Do they say good thing about you (like you could be a successful researcher)? Are they written by someone who is well known? Also, are you going to write your statement well? Will you statement show that you have done research into the schools that you are applying to and have an idea of what advisor you would like to work with? These things are all extremely important.