Switching research advisor??

sleeplover

Hello,

I am a 1st year PhD student this coming fall. I'm now working for a new assistant professor in my department. This prof admitted me in the program and I just got to know recently that I am committed to working with this prof for my grad study since this prof agreed to support me financially. At first his research sounded interesting but after working for a month this summer quarter, I didn't feel passionate about this research pathway as well as its background and I am thinking about joining another group. Unfortunately, there's no lab rotation in my program or any opportunity to try working in different labs and we have to settle in a lab in the 1st quarter. Should I try to reach out to other profs that I'm more interested in and ask that prof to fund me or stick to this lab to ensure my funding? I don't have money to pay for tuition fees and feed myself. I know it's bad to leave his lab since I am the only member in the group now since he just got hired a few months ago. Grad school is long and hard so I just would like to work on what fits me and interests me the most. I am open to any advice!!!!

Thanks

Wow.  I know you didn't do it on purpose, but I feel bad for your prof ... losing PhD students affects tenure decisions and he's in his first year.  

Of course, if you're going to be absolutely miserable in his lab, don't let that deter you necessarily.  What I'd do if I were you is wait it out one year in his lab.  This is for a couple of reasons:

1) You make sure you REALLY don't want to do this work, before going through the embarrassment (for both you and him) of switching labs before the semester even starts

2) You get diverse research experiences in both his lab and new prof's lab which is a mild silver lining