Philosophy, Political science, and no direction

Hi all,

I've been perusing the board for a few days now. I recently graduated undergrad with a B.A. in Political science and a B.A. in Philosophy and I'm currently at an impasse of sorts. I adore philosophy, but my understanding is that not only are most philosophy PhD programs impossibly difficult to get in to (my GPA is mediocre, LORs would be from not necessarily notable {albeit incredible} professors, and I

First, yes, Political Science is a little better. You have no idea how hard it is to get into top Philosophy programs.

Now, to the OP. I graduated with BAs in political science and philosophy, but was never interested in the kind of philosophy you wrote your thesis on. that is, straight up american analytic philosophy. i was always only interested in continental and political philosophy. i am doing my MA in philosophy now, and will be applying to PhD programs in political science this fall. so, we are in similar positions somewhat.

if you want to study political thought, you will have to abandon your interests in materialism. that is for sure. it might not be a bad idea to enroll in an MA Program in either political philosophy or political science. a good place to study hegel, for example, is the new school for social research, in either the political science or philosophy departments.