I haven't done research but I want to move to research

chessmaster22

Hi All,

I have a B.S. in EE from University of Maryland and my research experience in college is next to nothing. I had technically related technician job during those years and founded a startup.

I graduated Fall 2014 and I have been working at Visa as a software engineer/systems analyst which is not related to my degree but it's adventurous since I don't know a single electrical engineer who can do what I do in software. 

NOW, I want apply for PhD programs for Fall 2016 and take a hard turn in my career and completely move towards research. I have a 3.9 GPA and strong letters of recommendation. Do I have any chance to get into top programs? (Stanford/Berkeley/MIT/Caltech/Princeton/Oxford/Cambridge/ICL/ETH/EPFL) 

I was admitted into UCLA for Fall 2015  as well as Maryland which I declined because I had higher hopes 

Am I being too optimistic by giving myself a chance for these top programs? If not, what strategy should I choose for my SOP since I don't have any research experience to talk about. 

Thanks for reading    

I know a couple of electrical engineers who work in software engineering - it seems to be a pretty common career path for EE majors, actually. Are you doing a specific type of software engineering that sets you apart?

Anyway, typically PhD programs - and especially top ones - require or strongly recommend their applicants to have had some research experience. Basically, they want to be sure that you know what you're getting yourself into and are not going to discover after a year or two that you really hate research. Also, they're going to want PhD students in their labs who are going to be helpful - help them get out publications and grants.