GRE score vs research experience???

NeuroBatman

So, I took my GRE for a second time this week.  Unfortunately, due to a terrible family emergency (my wife had a grand mal seizure the night before so I didn't get any sleep), I performed below my potential.  I scored 155 Q, 162 V.  I was consistently scoring 161 - 163 Q and 163 - 167 V on practice tests.  I'm wondering if this will be good enough for admission into top PhD programs in cognitive psychology/neuroscience?  I am in the process of working with one of the top researchers in my field to write a theoretical paper to be published and also will be submitting a philosophy paper for publication this fall.  Additionally, I will be working at Dartmouth College in a psych lab from January until August.   On top of that, I have an upper class GPA of 4.0 with an overall GPA around 3.5 (I have some bad decade old grades), and I have a few years of experience working with faculty at my school and 2 independent undergrad research projects (including a poster presentation). Will the research/publication experience outweigh the GRE scores, or should I . . . (cringe) take it again?  Some places I've looked online say that an overall score of 317 is good and some say that it's not (for example this site says I can get into Harvard but I am skeptical http://magoosh.com/gre/2013/gre-scores-for-top-universities/) ,  So I'm a bit perplexed.  Ideally, I'm hoping to get into Dartmouth, University of Chicago, Arizona State or the University of Georgia, with backups including, Florida State University, the University of Arizona and others TBD.  I should also mention that I have been corresponding with PI's via email (which is how I got the Dartmouth gig).  If any one has any sense of where I stand, I would really appreciate the feedback.  Kind regards. - Justin

i'm betting my brownies that you'll be just fine with those GRE scores (contingent on everything else that you mentioned happening and working out for you).