Advisors in American Studies

Hecate

Hi everyone,

I will be applying to a range of American Studies PhD programs for Fall 2016, and I have a few questions about potential advisors.

Some schools don't actually list the faculty of the American Studies department but instead list all other affiliated departments (English, History, Sociology....). Does that mean that any professor in any of those listed departments could become an advisor to students in American Studies programs?  Also, are teachers who specifically teach only Undergrad courses off limits, or do they also take on PhD students? What about lecturers and postdocs - can I voice my interest in working with them or is that just " not done"?

Sorry if that all sounds a little naive, but as an international student I'm not exactly sure how the US system works and I can't really find any specific information anywhere. 

Thanks so much!

Edited by Hecate

Some schools don't actually list the faculty of the American Studies department but instead list all other affiliated departments (English, History, Sociology....). Does that mean that any professor in any of those listed departments could become an advisor to students in American Studies programs?  

This is going to vary from one university to the next. The only surefire way to know is to consult the Graduate Handbook for that department, which should explain how students are to choose their advisors.

Also, are teachers who specifically teach only Undergrad courses off limits, or do they also take on PhD students? 

Again, this is going to vary from one university to the next. Whether or not these people are on the graduate faculty (that is, able to take on PhD students) likely varies. Some people just prefer undergrad courses, so they mostly teach those even though they can/could teach and advise graduate students.

What about lecturers and postdocs - can I voice my interest in working with them or is that just " not done"?