Communicating with two potential grad advisors in the same research group - advice?

geobsessed

Hello everyone,

I am currently an undergraduate senior and soon I will be applying for MS grad programs for Fall 2016 admission. I have a question about some communication protocol here, and am looking for some advice.

A program at the top of my list has a research group led by two PIs. Earlier in the summer, I reached out to one of the PIs via email to introduce myself, to ask some questions about the program/group, etc, and it was well received; after a few emails, I think the PI is very interested in me. I asked if it was okay if I contacted the other PI, and I was told sure, go ahead, that they both often co-advise grad students and everyone in the group works closely. I did that, and the other PI responded also very favorably to my inquiry. Both of them have told me about specific projects that they are working on and how many grad students they are expecting to take on to work on whichever project.